My journals.

It was past eleven; I walked to the door with him and stepped outside into the cool August night. “Come here,” he said. “I’ll whisper something: I like you, but not too much. I don’t want to like anybody too much.” Then it hit me and I just blurted, “I like people too much or not at all. I’ve got to go down deep, to fall into people, to really know them.” He was definite, “Nobody knows me.” So that was it; the end. “Goodbye for good, then,” I said. He looked hard at me, a smile twisting his mouth, “You lucky kid; you don’t know how lucky you are.

The Unabridged Journals of Sylvia Plath (1950-1962)

 

217866_513049742073663_849560388_n

Leave a Reply

